Store Cookie In Internal Cache

tubeman
Posts: 534
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:33 am

Re: Store Cookie In Internal Cache

Post by tubeman »

Hi,
If I am using Redis as cache engine in config.php, do the cookies get stored in Redis by any chance?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37241
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:43 am

Re: Store Cookie In Internal Cache

Post by admin »

Hi, yes
Don't forget to run script update
tubeman
Posts: 534
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:33 am

Re: Store Cookie In Internal Cache

Post by tubeman »

Hi,
Thanks. This is the reason why Redis gets full because if site has 2 million daily visitors and I am storing cookies for all these visitors in Redis it crashes during traffic peak hours. Any solution to this issue?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37241
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:43 am

Re: Store Cookie In Internal Cache

Post by admin »

Hi, you can use regular cookie and store it at user's side
Don't forget to run script update
tubeman
Posts: 534
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:33 am

Re: Store Cookie In Internal Cache

Post by tubeman »

I don't want any cookies to display on site as sometimes google can cause problem because of it. Is there any other way out where Cookies can be stored in internal cache and cause less load?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37241
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:43 am

Re: Store Cookie In Internal Cache

Post by admin »

if there's any - I'm not aware of it
If you know any - let me know, i'll implement it
Don't forget to run script update
tubeman
Posts: 534
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:33 am

Re: Store Cookie In Internal Cache

Post by tubeman »

Hi,
1.) Is there a way where we can store pages of site in Redis and use memcached or couchbase to store cookies?
2.) Right now cookie sets to expire once in 24 hours, do you think if we set cookie to expire in maybe 12 hours it will help bring down the load?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37241
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:43 am

Re: Store Cookie In Internal Cache

Post by admin »

hi,

1. right now - no, its possible to add but what's the point?

2. load or how much memory it occupy?
Don't forget to run script update
tubeman
Posts: 534
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:33 am

Re: Store Cookie In Internal Cache

Post by tubeman »

Hi,
1.) Right now Redis is stored on a separate dbserver, I have 256 GB RAM on the dbserver and 40 CPU's, I think maybe Redis just uses one core thats why it might be getting overloaded. Plenty of RAM available, the dbserver itself is not overloaded but its the front end server where the site is which is getting overloaded because of the number of php-fpm processes. During traffic peak hours once I restart Redis on the dbserver the load drops on the front end server. I have to do multiple restarts for Redis to control the load on the front end server.

2.) Admin said that alot of Data is being passed between site and Redis, they see datasets of 500-600 MB being passed every second and I am assuming that because of big traffic on the site cookies is taking up alot of space and I/O. Reason I asked if we set cookie to expire in 12 hours can it bring down the load on the front end server?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37241
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:43 am

Re: Store Cookie In Internal Cache

Post by admin »

yes, redis is a one core only

you can check it on server, no need to try to guess it

it takes 10 minutes to install couchbase and use it, what's the problem?
Don't forget to run script update
Post Reply